OH, MY CABARET!!

So I totally forgot to talk about my cabaret that happened on Mar. 17.  It was part of the “Dark Night” Cabaret Series produced by Acting Upstage.  One of my best buddies, Sharron Matthews, was the host of the series but unfortunately was horrendously ill that night so my friend and her hubby, the wonderful George Masswohl hosted my night instead and he was wonderful. It turned out to be a great night. Almost totally sold out.  And such a lovely, generous and warm crowd.  It was very exciting.  From my end, it went quite well.  I’m rarely totally satisfied with my stuff.  I had done 10 new songs and that is alot to put together. I wish I was able to tell the stories of the songs a little better.  I really like to take people on a guided tour through the the world of the song and sometimes I felt like a song would get away from me.  But that’s my own stuff.  Thankfully, I had the fan-freakin’-tastic Ryan DeSouza on piano keeping me on track.   That boy can play.  Holy Doodle!  The word I’m getting back is that the crowd has a great time and that is a wonderful thing.

It will probably be a little while before I do another one, being up here in Niagara-On-The-Lake.  But I’ve already got ideas for shows I want to do.  So we’ll see what happens.

Published in: on March 26, 2008 at 2:54 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2008/03/26/oh-my-cabaret/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi Thom,

    I just wanted to commend you on your cabaret performance on St. Patrick’s Day. All I wanted to do that evening was have a few drinks. When my friend, Melissa invited me out for your show afterwards I didn’t know what to expect.

    Your voice, your facial expressions, and mere presence left the audience craving more. It was the first live performance I’d been to in awhile, and you certainly left a lasting impression.

    I look forward to seeing more of your work.

    Congrats,

    Noreen Farooqui

  2. Thanks Noreen. For coming to the show and for the comments. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

