1st TECH DRESS

So we had the first tech dress yesterday afternoon.  What a freakin’ gorgeous show.  It’s set in 1935/36 when the men and women all were stylin’.  So the ladies are sexy and the guys are slick.  There are about 15,031 costumes . . . give or take several thousand.  I’m a big fan of Judith’s (costume designer).  She designed the sets and costumes for Berlin To Broadway and Cabaret that I did in Calgary.  Fantastic.  Not just imaginative but an incredible eye for character and detail.

Anyway, on the one hand, it was great to have the costumes, but on the other hand, my show went into the toilet.  Hahahaha   In one scene where it’s supposed to be really hot,  I come in and systematically remove/undo several articles of clothing.  Well, there were so many pieces (and it was the first time in all of it- remember) that it took me five times longer than when I was miming it in rehearsal.  And just to make it entertaining, some speck of stage funk landed in my left eye about 30 seconds into that entrance.  So picture it – there I am, trying to act in the scene, strip, play the ‘heat’, hit my cues and pick some cinder out of my eye all at the same time.  Needless to say, it was a lesson in self-forgiveness.

It’s also become very clear to me that I need an audience.  My character is the kind of guy who plays a room anyway and he’s mister one-liner.  There is that point where the cast can’t even muster the pity laugh at your bits.   So you start making up other bits out of desperation for some kind of reaction, which have not much to do with the character and more to do with your own neediness.  . . . . . or maybe it’s just me.  Hmm – awkward.

Published in: on March 28, 2008 at 1:35 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2008/03/28/1st-tech-dress/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

