TIME OFF IN NIAGARA-ON-THE-LAKE

So for those of you who have never spent time here (Niagara-On-The-Lake) and for those of you who have and understand this – this is such a teeny-tiny town. That is not at all a bad thing – it’s just a thing. I’m feeling such an urge to be productive these days. And I’ve grown to know myself. If left with nothing to do and too much time – “let’s play EAT YOUR ENERGY AWAY”. That is a no-no and it’s already happening. So I think it’s time to start writing. Even if it’s shitty. Eventually it won’t be shitty – maybe. But I’ll never know until I try. I’ve got a couple of ideas for cabarets that I want to start working on. I’ve also got a project that I talked about with a company in Toronto that I can’t talk about yet but it’s really a cool idea so I need to work on that this summer. Perhaps do a workshop of it here in NOTL. (Niagara-On-The-Lake is just too long to type over and over again.)

Anyway, I feel the need to exp . . . . oh my God, I just realized that that’s what it is. I feel the need to express now, not suppress. Wow, see? I just started writing and already the break-throughs are tumbling out. Can a Pulitzer be far away????? . . . . well, yes, I guess it can but you gotta have a dream, right? Am I right? Huh? Work with me, people! Love to ya.

That’s it for now.

Oh, have you guys ever done the Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron? This is just a thought connecting to the train of thought of self-actualization. I had heard about it for years, then I got it and looked at it for years – I don’t mean I read it, I mean I looked at it, literally sitting on my shelf, contemplating reading/doing it. It’s a 12 week program aimed at helping you to discover/re-discover/uncover your own creativity – no matter what you do for a living. I finally did it last year and it seriously changed my life. I can’t look at my own obstacles passively anymore. When I realize I’m putting up a block, I want to go after it and break it down. It really changed how I look at the world. I HIGHLY recommend it.

Okay, that’s all.

Published in: on April 7, 2008 at 8:38 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2008/04/07/time-off-in-niagara-on-the-lake/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thom, you sound like a local already (NOTL). When you start talking about going OTR it will be just like you grew up around here!

  2. heehee. It rubs off on you.


Leave a Reply

