DAY OFF – NICE

I had the best day off yesterday, guys. I got up and did my regular web-surfing, then had a lovely Jenny Craig breakfast of french toast with berries and maple syrup – I’m telling you, Jenny Craig rocks. Why am I not doing commercials for them???!!!! I’ve recently been starting to run. I’ve been wanting to try it for awhile. It was a gorgeous day, sunny and warm. And I decided to run outside for the first time. And I had the best time. Funny how fast time goes by when you have . . . oh I don’t know . . . changing scenery!!! It was beautiful. And I thought I would go for 25-30 minutes. Well I got home 40 minutes later. Awesome. (where’s my surf-board – “awesome” – my new word these days) Now, let me be clear, this is relatively new. I didn’t actually ‘run’ for 40 minutes. I would walk for 2 minutes, run for 5, walk for 2, run for 4, etc. But I really enjoyed it. I found this great trail here. When I got home, I decided to have a shower, have lunch and go for a bike ride. I thought I would bring my A Little Night Music script and stop along the way and do some work in the sun. Well, I just kept riding along the trail till I was half-way to Niagara Falls. I realized I should turn around and an 1 hour and 40 minutes later, I arrived back home, exhausted, exhilirated, and with my ass about two inches higher. Had a great dinner, worked on my script and watched a mediocre but sweet movie.

Good times.

I also had a great talk with my ‘home-girl’ Sharron (Matthews). I’m very happy to hear that she is finding her way through the grieving of the passing of her dear dog, Otto. And beyond that, we had a great talk about what it means to be true to who you need to be. And we both re-affirmed our belief that it’s not enough to just be working. I don’t want to take work I don’t want to be doing. Or even work that makes me go, “okay, I guess so.”. Money comes and goes but at a certain point, your soul is worth more than the money. And I don’t want to waste time doing something that doesn’t fill/thrill me. All that means is I’m keeping myself from doing what I should be doing, sharing all of whatever I have to share. That’s just not good enough anymore. So here’s to hoping that I can remain truer to that with every decision I make. Right now, I’m where I want to be, here at Shaw and that is a great start.

Thought for the day: Nothing new is created until someone steps off the beaten track.

Published in: on April 22, 2008 at 2:01 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2008/04/22/day-off-nice/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hey u

    Wow that was an “awesome” read
    I hope that people actually read between the lines on this one
    Wish that you’re doing well and staying out of trouble
    Talk soon


Leave a Reply

