BELLE MORAL

You guys, today I saw BELLE MORAL at Shaw. It is one of the best things I’ve seen in a while. Now, not to say that I haven’t seen some great stuff here so far – I absolutely have (nobody get there knickers in a twist – knickers? – what am I, 73?) But this was a magical combination of script (by one of Canada’s true literary treasures, Ann-Marie MacDonald), direction (Dora winner Alisa Palmer), design (Judith Bowden – who, by the way, designed the Cabaret I did at Theatre Calgary – she’s awesome and we love her) and cast:

Bernard Behrens

Julie Martell

Graeme Somerville

Martin Happer

Jeff Meadows

Donna Belleville

Peter Hutt

And the extraordinary Fiona Byrne, who gives a performance so luminous, she could embarrass a solar flare. It is truly a great production of a really intriguing and beautiful play. RUN, DO NOT WALK to get tickets as it was such a hit when it premiered at the Shaw 3 years ago, it will probably sell out fast. I feel truly inspired to be a better actor/performer/human being after seeing that show. It makes me realize what can be achieved when care is taken and given to every detail of a production.

Again, as I know many people including people from the Shaw read this, I’m not saying care isn’t given to the other productions here, – on the contrary – it’s just that there’s something special that I got from the show today.

So come see it, y’all. You won’t be disappointed. And if you are, suck it up, at least you got some of that ‘culture’.

Published in: on July 16, 2008 at 4:40 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2008/07/16/belle-moral/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

