HERE IT IS FOLKS – GOOD NEWS AND BAD NEWS

Okay you’ve all waited patiently – okay . . . well, I guess those of you who’ve been reading have waited patiently. . . .the rest of you didn’t know there was news coming. But I love you all for reading this now and here it is.

The bad news is I will no longer be playing Fred/Petrucchio in the concert version of Kiss Me, Kate for Talk Is Free this November. I’m so, so saddened by that. It’s a part I wanted very much to do and to work for Arkady Spivak, the artistic director, who has been such a supporter of my work. So it breaks my heart to bow out of this production. But I also know there are many incredible men who would kill to play Fred and who would be awesome so I have no delusions that I am not totally replaceable. . . . well, maybe not totally replaceable (I hope), but replaceable. πŸ˜‰

Okay, now the good news is I’m not able to do Kiss Me, Kate because I’ll be doing Aldolpho in the first all-Canadian production of THE DROWSY CHAPERONE at Vancouver Playhouse this Christmas – Nov. 22-Dec. 27. Woohoo. It’s a part I’ve wanted to do since I heard the recording a few years ago. For those of you who don’t know the show:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Drowsy_Chaperone

I’m so excited. I think a bunch of friends are doing it too but I don’t think they’ve signed on yet so I can’t say who they are. It’s a great show, it will be a great cast, it’ll be over Christmas, and all the fresh fish I can eat. What??!!!! Come on!!!! Here is the link to the theatre:

http://www.vancouverplayhouse.com/

Now I said I had lots of news. Well I do have more but I can’t officially say yet so you’ll just have to keep reading. heehee. I’m not purposely doling it out little by little. I just can’t say until I have an official offer.

So stay tuned.

Published in: on August 12, 2008 at 5:09 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2008/08/12/here-it-is-folks-good-news-and-bad-news/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ahhh, that is AWESOME!! Such a fun part to play in such a wonderful show! Congratulations, Thom! You’re going to be awesome πŸ˜€

  2. OMG that is awesome. The first time I heard the cast recording I actually thought how good you would be in that role.

    Knock ’em dead kiddo!

  3. HI Thom: I hope the next good news is that you are coming back to Stratford. We miss you here.

  4. Thanks Gill.

  5. You will be fabulous Thom! It’s such a great part. Worth the trip out West …

  6. haha Sally. I’m sorry to say I haven’t been invited back yet. So it won’t be soon. And I don’t mean that as a slam, just a fact.


Leave a Reply

