2 DAYS OFF

Heaven.  We just had two days off.  It was fantastic.  And perfect timing.  I had forgotten that it’s about this time – end of August, beginning of September – when things start to become ‘work’ at the festivals.  ie. it starts to feel like work. You start to get tired of doing the shows so you have to start being creative to get through them.  You imagine someone in the crowd you know and who will get a kick out of seeing you perform, you imagine that young person who sees this performance and decides-because of your commitment to the performance-that they want to go into acting, whatever works.  So it’s a great time to get two days off in a row, it’s like having a mini vacation.  woohoo.

So Monday I went to the last day of the Ex (Canadian National Exhibition) in Toronto. I went with my dear pals Sharron Matthews, George Masswohl, Bill Humenick, and Scott Fink.  Then we were joined later on by Justin Stadnyk who plays Henrik – George’s character’s son – in A Little Night Music.  We got there at 1:45 and left at 10:15.  Needless to say, good times were had.  We laughed, ate, played games, ate, rode rides, ate, stood in lines, and to pass the time, we ate.  It was awesome. Now, I don’t do rides anymore.  I had a couple of weird experiences with rides that played with my inner ear and I’ve never been the same.  And once I’m nauseous, my day is ruined.  So I don’t do rides anymore but I still love the energy of carnivals.  Perhaps its the circus freak in me. And I love going with friends who do rides, it still makes it fun.   And Sharron doesn’t do a lot of rides either so we would wander or sit and people watch and talk and laugh our asses off.  It was a blast. But by the end of the day, we were zombies.

Then on Tuesday, I did some errands, met a friend for lunch and then saw Jersey Boys that night.  It was so great, you guys.  What a show.  A great blend of slick and heartfelt.  Great cast and my God, do they work.   All of them, they never stop.  And the four lead guys were amazing.  The singing was so clean and the energy is high.  That added bonus was seeing Jeremy Kushnier do it.   Jeremy and I grew up in the same arts community in Winnipeg.  I haven’t seen him in years so it was great to see him do something and then see him afterwards.  He really was a highlight of the show and that’s not just because I know him. He was always talented but he’s become such an incredible and excited and ‘polished’ performer.  I know that can sound condescending but I really mean it as the highest compliment.  He was awesome and still one of the nicest guys I’ve ever known.

And now here I am back in NOTL.  We have 5 more weeks.  It’s hard to believe. It’s gone so fast. I have lots of things to do before I’m done here.  And  couple of people who are coming to visit which will be nice.  Things are good.

Hope all had a good summer so far.  Enjoy the last few weeks of it.

Published in: on September 4, 2008 at 3:21 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2008/09/04/2-days-off/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Awwww, nuts!!!!

  2. hahaahhaah Dear God

  3. wow busy busy busy Actor!


Leave a Reply

