STRATFORD AND WINNIPEG

Sorry it’s been so long, everyone.  Let me fill you in.  It’s been a bit of a whirlwind since Shaw finished. We closed A Little Night Music in the afternoon on Saturday, Oct. 4, closed Follies that night.  Then closed Wonderful Town on Sunday night.  Meanwhile I had been packing all week for the move back to Toronto.  Then on Monday (yes, the next day) my friend came to move me back.  My friend rented a van in Stratford and wanted to get it back that night.  That worked out fine for me.  I wanted to get to Stratford if I could for the benefit concert of Stephen Sondheim’s COMPANY.  I was hoping to get the move done and be in Stratford by 8.  Okay so listen to this, ya’ll.  My friend got to my place at Niagara-On-The-Lake by 11, Monday morning.  Then we packed the van, drove back to Toronto, dropped my stuff off in two different places, grabbed some food and drove to Stratford.  Ready for this? – we got there by a little after 4.  WHAT!!!????  Thank God I get occasional moments of my mother’s incredible organization.

So I made it to see COMPANY. It was fantastic.  I really need to play Bobby, the leading man, in that show.  If you all know anyone who can put it up, call me!!  😉   I had intended to go to Stratford anyway on the Tuesday.  So I just got to get there earlier.  I stayed in Stratford with my friends Jane and Laura for three days.  I visited with friends and saw 5 shows.  Yes, five.  It was quite the whirlwind.  I saw HAMLET, CAESAR AND CLEOPATRA, TAMING OF THE SHREW, THE MUSIC MAN, ROMEO AND JULIET.  It was a great time. I enjoyed them all to varying degrees.  And it was great to see some people.  I caught the 9:11pm train back to Toronto on Thursday then the next adventure began.

On Friday afternoon, I caught a 12:55 plane to Winnipeg. I had a slew of things happening in Winnipeg around the same time and so it worked out that I could make it to Winnipeg between jobs.  So I was in Winnipeg from Oct. 10 to Oct. 16.  The events were as follows (how very official that sounds): my mother’s 70th birthday on Oct. 3, I had a wedding of an old friend which I was asked to sing at on Oct. 12, Thanksgiving on Oct. 13 and my father’s 79th birthday on Oct. 14.  All went off very well.  Plus I had a great visit with my cousin Zoe, my cousin Julie, and my best friend Krista and her amazing husband, Matthew and fantastic baby, Miles.  The wedding went well.  There were a few little hitches in the ceremony but the reception was really beautiful.   And my song for the ceremony went well but I don’t want to do that anymore.  It’s too stressful.  All I kept thinking about was if I screw this up (ie. forget the words, etc.) I’m ruining someone’s wedding.  Aaaaaaarrrrrrgggggghhhh!.  But it all came off.  My favorite part of the wedding was when I was just about to leave and a stranger came up to me, gushing about my song and then said, “You should do this for a living!” – AWESOME!  I just said, “Thanks, I’ll look into that.”

And now I’m back in Toronto until Oct. 25 when I leave for Vancouver to start rehearsals for THE DROWSY CHAPERONE.  I’m really excited.  It’s going to be awesome.  In the meantime, I’m doing a benefit on Oct. 20 for Fife House (AIDS hospice here in Toronto)

http://www.scenechanges.com/previews.html

And I’m singing at a fundraiser, or something like that, for The Shaw Festival (nice that I don’t even know exactly what it is. They ask, I sing) here in Toronto on Oct. 21.  Then I’m going to be my buddy Cara Pifko’s date for the untelevised Gemini’s on Oct. 22.  Very excited about that.  She’s been nominated for the movie we did together a year and a half ago, I ME WED.  Fantastic.  She was great in it.  She’s so natural, I love that.   Then I see a play with a friend on Oct. 23, pack on Oct. 24 and leave on Oct. 25.  Woohoo.

In the meantime, I’m getting together with my usual holiday crew for a little pre-holidays holiday get-together since I won’t be here for the holidays, on Oct. 19.  It’s a packed few days but I like that.  I still have lots of time to relax and hang out.  It’ll be great.

Okay, I guess that gets you caught up.  More soon.  I’ll let you guys know how it all goes.

Published in: on October 18, 2008 at 1:55 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2008/10/18/stratford-and-winnipeg/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. good Idea what do you think?
    you should be in a movie musical movie wouldnt that be cool go to La California Make a Musical movie
    wouldnt that be nice Mr Allsion?


Leave a Reply

