SOME COOL NEWS

So get this, guys.  Apparently, I’ve been nominated for a best supporting actor Ovation award in Vancouver.  I believe it’s one of two theatre awards given out in Vancouver.  The Ovation awards are strictly musical theatre and they happen in January.  Then there are the Jesse’s which are the equivalent of Toronto’s Dora Awards and encompass all theatre and happen, like the Doras, in June.

For those of you who are or will be in Vancouver, the Ovation Awards are presented at an awards ceremony on Sunday January 25th at the Vancouver Academy of Music (1270 Chestnut Street) Reception 6PM followed by a two hour revue including performances from various productions and special guest presenters for each of the awards to follow at 7PM.

http://www.applausemusicals.com/pb/wp_ff9e6278/wp_ff9e6278.html

I’ll keep you all posted as to what happens.  I feel so shocked and honoured when I get nominated for something.  It really is cool just to be nominated (and I’m not shitting you).  It means a huge deal to me that a collection of my peers decided they liked my stuff enough to vote for me.

Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to be the Susan Lucci of Canadian theatre or anything.  But I’ve been nominated for two Doras (OUTRAGEOUS, ELEGIES:A SONG CYCLE) and two Betty Mitchells (CABARET, EVITA) so I still have some time.  Thank God.

Stay tuned in the next couple of months.  I may have several pieces of fun news.  Maybe . . . who knows . . . I make no guarantees . . . .

Published in: on January 20, 2009 at 10:27 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2009/01/20/some-cool-news/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hola congrats!! best of luck 2 ya
    adios


Leave a Reply

