A NEW BRAIN REHEARSALS

Hey everyone.  We’ve started A New Brain rehearsals and oh my God, this music is involved.  Holy Shmoot.  William Finn doesn’t make this easy.  But it’s pretty great stuff.   And this cast is outrageous.  There is only ten people but it sounds like 24.   Daryl Cloran, our director, gave us a talk on the first day (Thursday) that was insightful, inspiring, and gained our complete trust.  I think this is going to be an amazing experience and hopefully it will turn out to be the same for the audience.  But let me tell you folks, this is a lot to get together in a very short period of time.  So today – our day off- will be about learning music and just getting the show into my psyche. Anyway, that’s it.

And I have to say once again how amazed I am by Wayne Gwillim who is our musical director.  He did most of the tracks for my Mexico gig and he was also the musical director for Elegies:A Song Cycle a couple of years ago.  He is relatively young but my God, he’s good.

Okay I’m having a bizarre moment right now.  As I write this, the TV’s on and Showboat, the movie of the broadway show, is on.  For those of you don’t know it, it’s an old show about the lives surrounding this old riverboat at the turn of the century in America and a big part of it involves race relations.  And after seeing the inauguration of the 44th president (44th or 43rd) who is a man of colour, it seems hard to believe.  Just thinking how far the world has come, well, America certainly in the last 50 years, even, let alone 100.  100 years ago, he would be picking cotton and now he’s the president.

I have to admit, I watched the inauguration and I got a little teary.  So much of what happens in our country is affected by our neighbors to the south. And I didn’t think I would see it happen in my lifetime that our sister country would overcome such a long history of racial intolerance to embrace with overwhelming support a black man.  I am so proud to be on this continent right now where a man with such presence of self and intelligence and respect and heart is put in a position to right some of the many, many wrong turns that have been taken by the former regime.  I’m not a political person by any means but I know what is and isn’t healthy and the U.S. is a country that has been ailing for the last 8 years and I hope and pray that they’ve found the doctor they’ve needed.  We, Canadians, could use a little doctoring ourselves right now, I fear.

But for right now, I feel hopeful.  On all fronts.  There is always beauty in the air but it feels tangible right now.  Let’s just enjoy it.

Published in: on January 25, 2009 at 2:16 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2009/01/25/a-new-brain-rehearsals/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Everytime I see mention of A New Brain, I just get filled with excitement about it…I’m so happy to get to see a production of this show at all, but the fact that we were able to organise coming back to Toronto to see this particular production and to see you and Steven do this show is so thrilling; I have no doubt that it will be wonderful. Can’t wait to see it and can’t wait to see you all! Less than three weeks now! 😀

  2. Sounds great!


Leave a Reply

