UPDATES AND NEWS

So many things, my friends.

Okay, so first of all, A New Brain.  We had our sitzprobe yesterday.  For those of you who don’t know what that is, a sitzprobe is when the actors sit/stand and sing the music with the orchestra/band for the first time.  It’s always very exciting. There are only three musicians on this show but what Wayne Gwillim did in his re-orchestrations is amazing.    It’s going to sound great.  It’s amazing what can be done with a keyboard and fancy sound box ( I can’t, for the life of me, remember what its called but it’s this amazing box that Wayne programs and then he presses a pedal and the whole sound of the keyboard changes – awesome)

We go into 12 hour tech rehearsal days today and tomorrow.  Eek.  But it will be really great to get on the set and play around.  We had our first run-through on Saturday before our day off and it was great to see the whole thing put together.  Holy Doodle, a lot of shit happens in this show, and in a very short time.  I don’t really know what to compare it to.  I think/hope audiences will like it.  There is a lot to like, if only the performances.   But, again, I have to say, Steven Gallagher should never NOT be working.  He is an absolute marvel.  He flips from comedy to heart-break like he’s switching on a light.  And totally committed to every moment.  He’s quite extraordinary.   I hope he gets the accolades he deserves for this.    We’re having a great time.  I still don’t feel like I’ve arrived as Roger (my character), but we have a few more days.  I hope he’ll really drop in.

For those of you who’re planning to attend, word is it’s starting to sell really well so don’t wait.   Seriously, this isn’t that bullshit statement to “rope you in”, it’s probably going to sell really well.  Dont want y’all to miss it.  And not just for me, I’m not the meat and potatoes of the show.  I’m the “gravy” in this theatrical meal – something warm, brown, and rich that mellows everything out.  Wow, that was a bit of a dirty analogy.  . . . . meh, I’ll let it stand.

Other news.  Did the benefit for Alliance Hospice last night.  It was really a good time.   I love doing benefits.  They are always for a good cause and people are so ready to enjoy themselves.  I was one of 4 soloists.  Frank Ruffo , Stephanie Martin, and Heather Bambrick were the others.  Each one fantastic.  I’ve known Frank for years and he’s like your favourite uncle who can actually perform.  Really old-school Sinatra feel.  And Stephanie I’ve discovered in the last five years.  A beautiful singer/songwriter with a really great voice and folky/pop-y sound with a hint of R&B.

http://www.stephaniemartin.ca/

The person I didn’t know was Heather Bambrick – Oh my God, funny and awesome warm jazz voice.  She was spectacular.

http://www.heatherbambrick.com/

The crowd really loved it, which was great.  And I even sold a bunch of CD’s which was also sweet.

Okay – off topic.  As I’m writing this, the Bugs Bunny and Tweety Show is on TV.  Did you ever notice how often Bugs is in drag???? Just sayin’.

There’s something else I was going to mention . . . .

Oh yeah right.  There is going to be a fantastic cabaret at Buddies In Bad Times on March 9.  Hosted by my buddy, the divine Sharron Matthews, it’s a fundraiser for Buddies with a great line-up of people from the theatre world.  I include the ad.  It’s called Sing Out, Louise (for those of you who don’t know, that’s a famous line from the famous musical GYPSY)  If you can make it, it won’t be disappointing.  And yes, I will be one of the performers.  What will I do, will I be funny?  Will I be touching?  Will I be naked?  (Okay probably not but I had to put it out there)

sharron-design-web2

Published in: on February 10, 2009 at 12:36 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2009/02/10/updates-and-news/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

