NEWS FLASH #1

Okay you’ve all (well, whichever of you have been reading my blog – I love you guys) been waiting for the news I’ve been intimating for the last couple of months.  Well there is some news but I’ll give you some little bits of news before the larger news.

SMALL NEWS #1

I’ve been asked to part of something else for the Canadian Stage Festival of Ideas and Creation.  Aside from the William Finn evening on June 22. I’ve been asked to read one of the roles in the three evening presentation of Tom Stoppard’s Tony-winning play COAST OF UTOPIA.  It’s three small plays, originally performed as one evening, which Canadian Stage is presenting in their separate units over the course of three evenings  – June 17, 18, and 19 as a benefit for the Actors Fund of Canada.  I’ll be a part of the second part (Shipwreck) , being read on June 18.  It’s supposed to be an amazing play and I’m really excited to be asked and to hear it.

Each of the three parts of the trilogy features over 35 actors – so over three days over 100 actors will be participating in this massive Benefit reading.
The plays are being read as follows:
Voyage (Wed June 17 at 7 pm)
Shipwreck (Thurs June 18 at 7 pm)
Salvage (Fri June 19 at 7 pm)

http://www.canstage.com/festivalweektwo#shipwreck

SMALL NEWS #2

Okay so secondly, I’ll be singing with the Metropolitan Community Church (MCC) choir on Pride day – June 28.  It will be part of the big public service they do every year.  It’s at 11:00 at the parking lot just North of Carlton on Church.  Always a good time.  I’m doing a really fun duet with the fantastic Stephanie Martin.  (possibly two)

http://www.pridetoronto.com/festival/events/372

BIG NEWS

Okay so it’s not humungous news but it’s pretty fun.  I don’t normally like to broadcast this sort of information before I’ve signed the contract but at this point, it’s pretty definite.  In the fall I’ll be reprising my role, Aldolpho (the role for which I was just nominated for the Jessie Award in Vancouver), in The Drowsy Chaperone.  In fact, our whole production is being taken lock, stock and barrel, as a co-production between The Citadel Theatre in Edmonton and The National Arts Centre in Ottawa.  So we play The Citadel from Sept. 5 – Oct. 4,

http://www.citadeltheatre.com/events.php?eventid=716&cat=43

and The National Arts Centre from Oct. 14 – Oct. 31

http://www.nac-cna.ca/en/whatson/results.cfm?EventID=5910

DrowsyDress_280

I’ve never done a remount before.  The great thing is there are enough cast changes (some people just aren’t available) to keep it fresh and feel like a new show. So it will be fun to revisit the crazed Aldolpho once again.  It was so much fun the first time. If you can make to it either, do.  It was such a fun production and quite a brilliant and fun show.

There is more news to come but that’s not solid yet.  Hopefully I’ll have more for you in the next few weeks.

Published in: on May 30, 2009 at 4:17 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2009/05/30/news-flash-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Congrats on all the wonderful news, Thom! Drowsy remount!!! But… is Aldolpho not visiting Toronto??

    That is one fantastic piece of photo. I don’t even Recognize you in that crazy wig and moustache… (But the wardrobe’s yours, right? For the MCC Pride gig? Maybe? No?)

    Very cool about the Finn and the Stoppard, too! I don’t think I’ll be in town for Finn which KILLS me, but I hope they let someone film it 🙂


Leave a Reply

