SO NOT FUNNY . . . PUSHING, PUSHING

DrowsyDress_280OH GOD!!  I hit that place in our tech rehearsal today where I just felt like everything I’m doing just isn’t funny at all.  I was tired of my own bits and nothing felt genuine.  Everything felt forced and tired and “pretend-y”.  I was mad and bored with myself.  So I just had to let it go and try to have fun.  It was pointed up even more by the fact that we had our first rehearsal with the band and they sound FAN-FREAKIN’-TASTIC.  It makes such a huge difference to have those – once 5, now 7 musicians- making such wonderful music.  The support is incredible.  I think the show is going to be really great.  I just need an audience so I can re-think my stuff.  I need to feel it in front of a crowd.  I’m not worried, it’s just a crappy place to be in.  But the good thing is that it still very much matters.  I’m just glad I haven’t noticed how I feel and then figured it was good enough.  That’s when I need to leave the business.  I want to really make him as fun as he can be.  And open and sweet, and earnest.  Which he is.  He thinks he’s doing well but he’s not that smart or talented.  How fun is that to play??!!!

We have a rehearsal of bits tomorrow and then our tech dress.  I can’t wait. It’s going to be really fun.  I definitely need to add the extra layer of costumes now.  That will be fun.  Oh, and I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this (and I don’t feel like looking it up. hahaha) but none of our wigs or facial hair came iwth the show.  Long story.  So they’ve had to rebuild, remake, redesign the wigs.  I’ve tried on my wig in a state of undone so I will see the finished product tomorrow.  Can’t wait.

Published in: on September 3, 2009 at 6:48 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2009/09/03/so-not-funny-pushing-pushing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

