CHARACTER BALANCE

I know I’ve sort of talked about this before but I’m finding it a fascinating lesson working on this leg of the Drowsy “World Tour” as we like to call it.  The audience was so warm and into the show last night.  Then I went out to do my Aldolpho which is usually a “shoe-in” with an already effusive audience.  They suddenly got very quiet.  They didn’t seem hostile at all but more confused or something.  Which always makes me firstly consider my own performance.  Was a too aggressive and not relaxed enough?  I find when I push him too hard to get the laugh, the audience pulls away.  It’s a finer balance this time around which can be frustrating but also kind of fun.  I find I’m learning a lot about comedy and pacing and relaxation working on this leg of the “tour”.  I’m also wondering if they hear/get that he’s a former silent film star.  The Man In Chair tells them early on but if they don’t hear that, it makes sense that it takes them a while to figure out what the hell I’m doing.  That’s such a big part of the choices I’ve made with the character; his huge physicality, vocal choices, etc.  Don’t get me wrong, I do win them over, (I hope, I think) but the few times that it’s happened where they start off slow, they do eventually get on the Aldolpho train.  Thank God.  But wow, what a cool journey of understanding how I work as an actor and understanding pacing and timing and trust and play.  Informative and fun.  I won’t lie, there have been a couple of times I lost the will to live because I knew I would have to drag them up my hill for a couple of scenes.  But for the most part, it’s just been informative.  It has been a challenge too,  I’m not superhuman.  My feelings get hurt, my ego gets hurt but you have to suck it up and get on with it.  Take the lesson and move on.  I’m getting better at that.

On another front.  Last night, my cousin who I haven’t seen in about 20 years came to the show with his wife who, obviously, hadn’t met.  They loved the show which is great but what was amazing was just getting to see him again.  He was my favourite cousin when I was really young.  He lives here in Edmonton and by fluke, he got my e-mail and got in touch.  The three of us went for a late dinner and we talked and laughed and caught up  I haven’t seen his brothers and sister for years either so we caught up on them a bit too.  It was a bit surreal but cool.  We share family history and I could see/hear family traits in him as he was talking.  Yet he’s a grown man I don’t know.  But the boy I remember is in there too.  It was a great time.  we may get together again before I go.  And his wife is a totally cool chick. She’s tall too.  Oh that may seem oddly irrelevant but I didn’t mention that my cousin is about 6′ 5”/6′ 6″ so it was cool to see that he found this tall goddess as a partner.  haha  Anyway, Edmonton has been really good to me.

8 more days then home.  And the Sondheim evening.  Oh yeah, if you guys haven’t gotten your tickets, get on it.  Apparently the first show was a huge hit.  The second installment is on Monday and the I do the third installment, the one I’m doing, is on Oct. 5.  Wooohoo

http://www.sondheiminseptember.com/index.html

Published in: on September 26, 2009 at 5:31 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2009/09/26/character-balance/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

