HOW’S THIS GONNA GO??!!!!

Okay so, I leave tomorrow for Winnipeg where I’ll be doing an entirely new production of The Drowsy Chaperone at Manitoba Theatre Centre.  My God.  I’ve never revisited a show before, let alone almost immediately after doing the show already.  Not to mention after remounting a version I had already done.  So weird.  I did Drowsy for the first time last Christmas in Vancouver at the Vancouver Playhouse.  We were just opening last year at this time.  Then we had 8 months break where I did many other things.   Then we did our same production at The Citadel and then the National Arts Centre.  With 5 new cast members.  And we just finished that 5 weeks ago.  Now I’m starting a whole new production – new director (MTC Artistic Director, Steven Schipper), new choreographer (Tracey Flye), new set design (Michael Gianfrancesco), new costumes (Charlotte Dean) and a whole new cast except for me and Tim Gledhill who was our male ensemble (he’s now playing the best man, George).  I’m excited and a little unsure.  I hope I stay stimulated.  I want to use my past knowledge of the show to be able to go deeper and get more detailed.  Also, all of the blocking will be different, reactions, etc.  Completely different people, instincts, set, etc.  So toward that end, I’m going to try to be diligent and BLOG the whole experience.  I will try to make an entry every 3 days at the latest just to document  how this experience  will turn out.  Ooooooooooooooo  I’m sure it’s going to be fun but I’m also pretty sure there will be moments where I’ll want to take my own life a little.

STAY TUNED!!!!

Published in: on December 5, 2009 at 10:57 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2009/12/05/hows-this-gonna-go/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. The Kirby Muxloe Players have just produced this show and I had the honour of playing ‘Aldolpho- The King of Romance@.
    A wonderful show which the cast and our audiences loved


Leave a Reply

