TAKING FOREVER AND HAPPY EASTER

I know, I know, my children “When the hell am I going to announce the news?” (Kelly, I’m not holding out on purpose, I swear.)  It will probably be a couple more weeks. Sorry to do that to you.  Well, actually I may be able to tell you some news sooner than that.  But the big news, not for a couple of weeks.  But it’s going to be worth it, truuuuuust me. 

In the meantime, I’m here in Calgary, having a fantastic time.  The cast of “The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee” is so great.  And our director, the wonderful Dean Paul Gibson, is a crazy, clever, smart, funny, generous, loving, gruff,entertaining man, who makes every day an adventure and  a hoot.   I’ve got a professional crush on our choreographer, Lisa Stevens, who is a scream and a sweetheart and is so on top of her game.  Her choreography is clever and fun and character driven.  She’s pretty freakin’ great.  We all laugh so hard every day, it’s almost a crime to get paid for this. 

Other thoughts.  I’m so aware these days of trying to be present for myself.  I mean, really being in the moment, listening to people/the world; sitting with my thoughts and emotions in moments of discomfort.  That shit is hard sometimes, y’all.  I’ve become aware of how many times a day I try to disappear or tune out or become concerned that someone won’t like what I have to say or wonder if what I have to say is just stupid  and on and on and on.  That’s a lot, my friends.  But the nice thing is, I’m aware of those times and I have now really become conscious of just trying to breathe and, as I said before, stay “present”.  Really stay in moments of fear or anxiety and see what’s actually inside those moments.   I feel like I’m sounding like a “Psychology Today” article but these are some very real things I’ve been noticing and experiencing and playing with. 

I feel like I’m on the verge of a new phase.  I really do.  The universe has something cooking for me.  I feel ends being wrapped up and new doors opening to fresh and multitudinous possibilities.  Nothing excites me more than that.  The other great part of that is that I’ve been active in finding and opening those doors so it’s not like I’ve just been at the whim of fate.  I’ve been walking hand in hand with fate, tickling its palm . . . just a little.  (I don’t want fate to think I’m getting fresh, but just that I’m willing to possibly give it some “sugar”.)

That’s about all.  I have to hit the hay.  Gym early and then rehearsal. 

HAPPY EASTER, Y’ALL.  Hope it’s filled with all the chocolate you can eat.  Nothing says “Hooray for Jesus coming back from the dead” like cocoa, fat and sugar.

Published in: on April 4, 2010 at 5:40 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2010/04/04/taking-forever-and-happy-easter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hi Thom

    I have been skulking in the background and being quiet but enjoying your blogs very much as well as the performances you have done in TO.

    You have had us on pins and needles with your upcoming news announcment. Ok.. it made the paper this morning (The Toronto Star) so…. tell people!! Yeah…. can hardly wait. Sharon


Leave a Reply

