SPELLING BEE OPENING AND MAN IN THE MIRROR

Well, peeps, we opened The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee on Friday night and it was great.  The people are freakin’ loving the show.  It’s amazing.  There is something about William Finn that people just connect to.  This is my third Finn show and each show, the crowds have really enjoyed themselves.  But they really do lose their minds for this show.  Even our quieter shows are raucous.  We’ve already extended a week and there is the possibility of extending another week.  They have to let us know by the end of this week.  Love this cast.  They’re fun and dedicated and talented and funny.  The opening was great, the volunteers were great.  (We pull up 4 volunteers from the audience to be spellers at the top of the show)  And so far the reviews have been glowing.  It’s always nice to be in a hit.

So we did the opening night, two shows on Saturday, a show Sunday night and then I was on the red-eye to Toronto to sing in the “Man In The Mirror” benefit concert for Acting Up Stage on Monday night.  It’s the amazing company I did Elegies: A Song Cycle (I got my second Dora nomination for it) and A New Brain for.  It is the 3rd benefit of it’s kind.  A few years ago, Mitchell Marcus, the Artistic Producer, had the idea of exploring the works of huge pop stars/groups through the interpretations of 10 musical theatre performers.  I’ve done all of them so far.  The first year was The Beatles.  The second year was Paul Simon.  And this year, as you can imagine by the title, was Michael Jackson.  It was amazing, y’all.  Louise Pitre, Adam Brazier and I were the headliners (I was told – not my own decision – but I’m happy to be a “headliner”  –  I’m coming over all “Vegas”) and the other wonderful performers where Eliza-Jane Scott, Jeigh Madjus, David Lopez, Erica Peck, Justin Bott, Sara Farb, and Amanda LeBlanc.  It was a spectacular night.  Completely sold out and the crowd loved it.  I sang Got To Be There and the title song, Man In The Mirror.  It was a hoot.  Reza Jacobs, who is the MD of the gig and did all of the arrangements, is a marvel.  What he did with the arrangements was astonishing and beautiful.   I love doing gigs like this.  Fun, cabaret-ish.

Then I was on a plane back to Calgary on Tuesday morning to be back for my show on Tuesday night.  So no day off but still feeling revitalized.   Life is good, my people.

Published in: on April 29, 2010 at 5:20 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2010/04/29/spelling-bee-opening-and-man-in-the-mirror/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

