TIME OFF AND SUNSHINE AND PRISCILLA

My God, I am in the middle of my luxurious 3 days off.  We closed RENT at Rainbow Stage on Friday night (it’s Sunday) and it was great.  A really fun run.  The last 4 or 5 shows were not just sold out but they had to add chairs.  And I have to say, every night there was a crazy, enthusiastic standing ovation.  The crowds really seemed to love it.  It made it really sweet to do.

Now I’m actually having time off.  It’s beautiful and sunny.  I’m never here (in the ‘Peg’) with “days” off when it’s sunny so it’s pretty great.   Done the gym, going for a bike ride, dinner with the family, maybe a movie or sit on my balcony here and read a book or mindlessly watch TV or watch a movie on my computer. Who knows.  It’s a wonderful thing to have some time off.  Then tomorrow, I’ll head out to the beach with my BFF KJ.

6 weeks until rehearsals start for Priscilla, Queen of the Desert.  Now for those of you reading my blog, first of all, let me just say thank you so much.  I know you’re out there and I have to tell you I’m so thrilled and always a little humbled that so many of you keep up with my shit.   Thanks for journeying with me.  And I love when you can leave a comment to let me know what you’re thinking.  I don’t dig and will erase mean or negative comments but no one has sent those.  Thank you.  But every now and then I’d love to hear a thought.  Don’t be shy.  I just want to let you know that I will totally be blogging about my Priscilla experience.  How could I not?  My first Broadway show.  Come on!!!!!!  And I promise to really keep it up to date and keep it constant.  (Not every day, give me a break).  But certainly every 2 or 3 days, I’ll try to post something about how it’s going through rehearsals and then as things occur I’ll keep you up to date.  I’m starting to get excited.

So I guess you could call this the start.  I have to go and have measurements taken on Tuesday for costumes.  And so it begins.  I wouldn’t normally talk about this sort of thing cause but it’s just kind of funny.  I’ve gained some weight since my callback so when I was called to arrange for the measurements to be taken, I had to tell them to make a note that I will be “shrinking” once again.  So I have 6 weeks to lose it.  It’s not lots.  And no, I’m not going to tell you how much, you nosy buggers.  😉  I’ll just say, it’s not 50 lbs. but it’s more than 10.   hahaha  I’ll do it. It’s not he first time but that the project for the next month and a half.  I am mentioning it because I want any youngin’s  reading this to know that everyone has things to overcome.

And did I mention I have my place to live arranged for the rehearsal period so that’s fantastic.  Thank you Dathan.  It’s a little bizarre to think that in this brief 6 week period, I’ll be rehearsing, putting up and doing the run of a whole other show but I love it.

Okay, time to go enjoy the day, y’all.

Published in: on July 11, 2010 at 7:17 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2010/07/11/time-off-and-sunshine-and-priscilla/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi Thom: I confess I am a silent lurker to your blog, and have been for some time. But today your posting struck a little note for me, so hence this comment. I am really looking forward to your blogs from New York. Having never been there myself, I hope you will not only write about your experiences with Priscilla, but also your experiences in New York city. I look forward to seeing New York through your eyes. I was also going to wish you luck with Priscilla, but knowing your work from Stratford and your CD, I don’t think you will be needing much luck.

    • Donna, so great to get your message. That is a fantastic thought. It never occurred to me that people might be reading this who have never gone to New York. Well, you have just inspired me to open up my “Priscilla, Queen of the Desert” blog to include my New York adventures. Complete with pictures. Hmmmmm. This is good. Thanks for reading, Donna, and for the wonderful nudge. I hope I don’t let you down.


Leave a Reply

