BUS STOP #18

This is way overdue.  My God, it’s been a long time.  I’m not even sure what I said last time and what I didn’t.  And I won’t lie to you, my peeps, I’m too tired to go back and look.  so I’ll just start with what’s been recent.  Our director, Simon Phillips, and our choreographer, Andy Hallsworth were in town and they workshopped/rechoreographed our opening number.  It was fascinating. It really felt like we were putting together a new show.  Well, to be specific, they did two versions of it.  They retooled the opening number we have now – ie. Andy re-choreographed the second half of it.  Then we spent 3 days reworking the number, adding music and changing choreography that will be implimented in New York.  We can’t put it in here because  . . . well, . . . .we took a video of it the last time through to send to Spud, the musical supervisor, so he can reorchestrate it.  Simon felt like we could be telling the story better off the top.  Love him.  It’s actually going to be really cool.  And on top of that, there will also be new costumes for the opening that will be fantastic.  They showed us the drawings.  A-mah-zing.   Hot and funky and pop-y.  It will be a very different and very dynamic opening number when we get to New York . . . and it’s cool now.

Oh, the National Post did an article about me that has an online video portion. It’s fun.  I’ve included the link below.

dressing-drag-priscilla-queen-of-the-desert-the-musical

I spent an afternoon getting in and out of some of my costumes from the show.  It was really fun.  The interviewer,  Karen Hawthorne, was a hoot and we laughed a lot.  It turned out okay.  I don’t know if we are ever really happy with the outcome of this sort of thing.  We always wish we had been funnier or more charming or blah, blah, blah.  But it’s okay.

Now I’m starting to get ready for my upcoming cabaret. I’m very excited.  I loved doing it the first time and now I’m going to make some changes I wanted to make.  I need to find one song of Harold Arlen’s for one place in the show which is really important.    I know I can find it.

I’m sure there is more but I’m exhausted.  Two more shows tomorrow.  I will try to write more when I have more time.

 

Published in: on December 12, 2010 at 6:04 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2010/12/12/bus-stop-18/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

