BUS STOP #19

Another long break between entries.  Sorry y;all.  It was crazy Christmas time.  What a great holiday.  But before we get to that.  I have a confession to make.  I went on for one of my understudies.  Not Bernadette, so everyone just calm down.  Also not for Miss Understanding.  I went on for Jimmy, the aboriginal guy the ladies meet in the desert at the end of act 1.    No one thought that that would happen as I was the second understudy but due to a twist of fate . . . there I was . . . . shirtless . . . . blonde locked . . . . in a diaper . . . of sorts.  Why God, why??!!!  But it turned out okay. I just didn’t want anyone I knew there  before I knew I could at least pull it off even half-way.   I’m even including a photo.  So there you go.

Christmas was so great.  Spent it with some people who are very dear to me.  Old friends, new friends.   We had a show in the afternoon on the 24th.   Then I sang at the service at Roy Thomson Hall that night.  It was a wonderful night.  Truly.  The service is always beautiful.  My song went alright.  I was feeling a bit of the chest cold that has been trying to take hold but I felt very present and the crowds seemed to appreciate the sentiment of it.  Had a wonderful Christmas day (no show).  Then did some shopping on Boxing Day.  I love a good sale.  Then we had a show that night.  A really good balance.  The only surprise was that I had to go on again for Jimmy as the actor who plays him was caught in the crazy freak snow storm in New York.  Same thing for the 27th.  But he’s back tonight so I won’t be on for that role.  Back in my track tonight and that’s okay.

So here we are with 8 shows left, including tonight. It’s so crazy but it will be good to have a palate cleanser.  Lots to do in the 6 week break.  I’ve got my cabaret on Jan. 9.  Then I will probably have to pop into New York to look at places, then something else . . .that I can’t talk about yet,  . . . then . . . well, something else I can’t talk about.   hahahah  I’m not trying to torture you, I just can’t talk about the last two things yet.  Soon, I promise.  Then some time at the beginning of February, I’ll have to do the big move to NYC.  Wow.  A bit surreal.  I’ll admit.  In the midst of all of that, I need to pack and organize and throw out.  God help me. But I gotta say, I love purging – making room in ones life for the freshness of something new.  It’s a healthy feeling.

There hasn’t been much else going on really.  Just the show.  People have been getting a wicked virus going around so we’ve had swings on (swings = general understudies).  But nothing major.  You can tell that people are really wanting and indeed needing to go home.  It’s hard being away for a long time and over the holidays.  It will be great for people to get back to their partners and homes and dogs and lattes and lives.  A little bit of New Year’s comfort.  And I get to be the tourist.  Woohoo.

Which also means, we’re not far away from a loving return to the . . . (drum roll) . . . . DONNABLOGS.  It’ll be like coming home.

So nothing left to say but a belated MERRY CHRISTMAS, EVERYONE.  And an incredibly JOYFUL NEW YEAR!

Published in: on December 28, 2010 at 10:09 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2010/12/28/bus-stop-19/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

