DONNABLOG #21

Well, here we are.  The day of my Opening Night Debut on Broadway.  It’s all a bit surreal, I have to admit.  I’ve been thinking about this day/moment from the second I was told I got the show.  What would it feel like?  Would I be scared or happy or joyous?  Would the world stop turning for a moment?  Would I be disappointed or surprised?

It’s 9:10 AM and I’m lying in bed getting ready to start the day.  Two of my favourite people are here to experience Opening Night with me and they’re still sleeping.  I want to savour every moment of today.   It still feels like any other day but I know that in 12 hours, I’ll be getting ready to go to one of the most remembered moments of my life, when I got to go to my first Broadway Opening party of a show I’m in.  I feel calmer than I thought I might, which is actually really nice.  I feel at home here in NYC. People have been asking me how it hasn’t happened sooner.  I have to admit, that’s a bit of an odd question to answer. It’s not like I turned down “so  many offers to come before” or something like that.  The timing just wasn’t right.  I had so many other lessons to learn before I got here, I think.  And it was just the right time now.

I love how people are loving our show.  They are out of their minds by the end.  I love my dressing room of boys.  Mike, Gavin, Tad and our token “young’n” Jeff.  They are funny and loving and kooky and mature and immature and supportive.  It makes going in to work a joy for me and I look forward to seeing them every day.  I feel like all of the years of work and sweat and stress and play has lead me to this and I can sit in it and feel like I belong here.  I don’t have any of those “I feel like I’m a faker” feelings I’ve had in years gone by and which many performers can have from time to time.

It’s an amazing thing when you can just allow yourself to be present . . . without planning ahead of the moment or judging.  I saw a friend’s quote today on Facebook,

Remember to never hide who you are. Then you can start to make life better!

Isn’t that the truth?  And what a perfect statement for Priscilla.  Living one’s life with respect for yourself and for others, and filling your life and everyone else’s life you touch with joy.  In my opinion, there is no great legacy.

Chookas!

Published in: on March 20, 2011 at 1:25 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2011/03/20/donnablog-21/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Chookas for tonight!!

  2. Hi Thom:

    I wish you much luck on your opening night. I just know you will be brilliant. I look forward to reading about this very special evening this space very soon. So enjoy every moment, and remember you have worked hard to get to this place, you deserve this.

  3. Thom

    You know you will have so many good thoughts and vibes coming your way from those of us in the GTA area.

    No doubt the show (and you) will continue to rock the house for a long time to come. Will be thinking of you tonight …. blow their minds tonight Thom!


Leave a Reply

