DONNABLOG #28 – A TRUE NEW YORKER

So what a fun day I just had yesterday.  I went to my second baseball game ever BUT my 1st game at Yankee Stadium. It was the first day without rain we’ve had and it was about 26/27 degrees (80 for my American friends)

It’s pretty gorgous.  All greco-roman.  I went with my friends Mike (in the cast of Priscilla), Brian (Costume supervisor for Priscilla) and Glynn (one of our stage managers on Priscilla).  We had a great time.  Here are two shots of either end of the inside.

That’s Glynn in the lower left hand corner above.  What was even cooler is that the Yankees were playing the Toronto Blue Jays.  So my old home team was playing my new home team.  The Yankees kicked the Blue Jays’ asses.  I’m torn about that.  But we had such a fun time.   Lots of laughs, lots of food, several servings of alcohol.  Not for me as I’m not a beer drinker.

That’s me and Mike.  Luckily the guy behind us who had the kid who was right behind me, left with the kid after about the 4th inning.  Awwww.  I do have to say, I found it ironic that a big chunk of the fans of this athletic game are well . . . . rather unathletic themselves.  Okay many people were downright obese.  But  I have to say, there is such a wonderful sense of community in the stadium.  This beautiful day, people getting together and cheering on their personal heroes.  It’s really quite touching.

That’s Brian and Mike.  This is also me being clever and playing with my phone (oooo, black and white . . . soooo artistic).  So much to discover with technology.  And one more shot, me and Brian and Mike.  I will hopefully have a shot of the 4 of us soon but I couldn’t find the way to get all of us in.  The other boys took some shots.

Anyway, it was a great day.  We did head over to a sports bar that Brian knew of afterwards.  Note to self, Bourbon on the rocks is a nice follow up to a baseball game. My God, when you only get one day off a week, it’s nice to do something completely different.

Published in: on May 26, 2011 at 3:44 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thomallison1.wordpress.com/2011/05/26/donnablog-28-a-true-new-yorker/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. thom in a wife beater at a baseball game…never thought i’d see the day!…here’s to new experiences!!! h xo

    • I thought the same thing…next he’ll be playing Stanley Kowalski. K.
      xo

  2. What a great day for NYC. Its still raining here in the Puget Sound (Seattle) area. High was like maybe 55! We’re all wondering whether summer will come or will it get lost like it had for the past five years…


Leave a Reply

